Vogel Prize Committee

Vogel Prize Committee

Committee members serve a term of five years, with the final year as chair of the committee. Each year one member rotates off and a new member is appointed by SIA’s President and approved by the Board of Directors.

Each year the SlA recognizes outstanding scholarship within the field of industrial archeology with its Robert M. Vogel Prize. The award honors the author of the best article to appear in the Society’s journal, lA, within the past three years. Articles under consideration have a clearly stated thesis, a well-constructed narrative, and an understandable conclusion. The analysis of material culture plays an important role in articles considered for the prize, as does the use of high-quality illustrations. The prize consists of a cash award and a wooden foundry pattern and plaque engraved with the recipient’s name.

Vogel Prize Selection Committee:

Chair: Eric Nystrom (2015-2020)

Sean Gohman (2016-2021)

Mark Foster (2017-2022)

Fred Quivik (2018-2023)

Steven Walton (2019-2024)